top of page

The Tattoo Artist Born to Roam

Most people only dream of traveling the world; they sit and they contemplate the pros and the cons. They tell themselves they don’t have enough money, or they can’t or don’t want to go alone. They spend all their time thinking about it and what it would be like, rather then actually making their dream a reality, and before they know it, it’s too late.

There is a guy though; that seizes every moment life throws at him.When I think of Dan Lins, I think back to a time when sailors and men of the military moved from place to place.These men created the term ‘traveling tattoo artist,’ and Dan does one hell of a job keeping that alive.

Upon his travels he views and experiences various styles of art and culture that flow over into his own creations. He has a deep dedication to his clients' experience, comfort, and education. He knows that tattooing is an art form like no other; it’s obscure, the permanent staining of the skin, that it involves pain, and it can mean so many things, camaraderie, bravery, love, and remembrance of a lost one.This is what sets Dan apart from other tattoo artists.

Around the world he’s known as ‘Tattoodan.’ For those people living and traveling vicariously through images of the web and social media, Tattoodan is one artist you definitely want to follow. He not only has his own unique style, but he continously travels all over the world.

Dan hails from York County, Pennsylvania, but currently resides in Southern California. I use the word ‘currently’ lightly, as Dan is never in one place for too long. We were glad to catch up with him for an interview while on a break from his travels.

The Ink Well: When did you first know you wanted to be a tattoo artist? When did you begin traveling as an artist?

Dan: Actually, until I personally met a tattoo artist, I never even thought of it as an occupation. My sister’s boyfriend at that time owned a shop, and I was just kind of like the nagging little brother who bugged him to teach me. Finally, he gave me the go ahead and said if I could come up with – I think it was five grand – to buy all my own supplies, he would teach me. So, I came up with the money and just ran with it from there. I worked in York, PA, but from the time I was 14 years old, I knew I never wanted to stay there. I grew up riding BMX and motor cross, and all the best riders were always from California or Florida; that’s why I decided I wanted to live out west. I believe it was after two years of tattooing – including my apprenticeship days – that I made the move out west. Some of my other friends finally got out of their hometowns as well and moved out of state. So there I was, being asked to visit all these different cities to tattoo them and all their friends.

The Ink Well: Does your tattoo work relate to any experiences or studies you had in college?

Dan: I never actually went to college, but I would say that the studies I completed through advanced art classes in high school, along with the tattoo artist that I admired, definitely interested me. Then, once I became more comfortable tattooing, I was able to lean in a certain direction.

The Ink Well: What is your favorite/best medium?

Dan: Tattooing, by far! I wish I had more time, or actually made more time for other types of mediums, but I’m always all over the place and never seem to concentrate on any one area. I tend to work a lot, and then I’ll just screw off and have fun for a while and then return to work again. When I get away from working, I don’t want to concentrate on work. I’m out doing other things instead.

The Ink Well: Describe how you try to put your own unique touch on your tattoos.

Dan: As bad as this may sound, I feel like I don’t do anything special. Well, I mean, I don’t feel I do anything that someone has not already done before. I definitely try to make each piece unlike any other. A lot of my stuff is pretty soft in colors or shades of black, but I really just try to make each tattoo the best I can. I want it to be something the client will be proud to wear around on themselves for the rest of their lives.

The Ink Well: Have you won any awards?

Dan: I received two awards that I know of (laughing). I don’t do many conventions these days, so I am not out there “competing.” Some people like that lifestyle; they like to say, “Hey, I won this,” or, “Hey, I won that.” I am a pretty quiet dude and don’t feel like I need to brag. I mean it’s the same with people who talk about famous people they tattoo. I definitely tattooed quite a few, but like … really? Name-dropping about some celeb does not make me cool, or an amazing artist.

The Ink Well: What kinds of styles do you like most?

Dan: I definitely dig realism, as a lot of my work reflects that style. You can never go wrong with evil shit, which is like a man’s butterfly that always exists. The new school style is also super fun: big, over exaggerated features that still have that realistic look. I just started dabbling in that style, because I was limited and was always taught things had to be proportioned to each other.

The Ink Well: If you weren’t a tattoo artist, what would you be?

Dan: I definitely would be doing something with music. I can’t physically play any instruments, and I am way too shy to stand up on stage and be a lead singer, but I think I would be involved with putting together concerts and festivals.

The Ink Well: Are you blood borne pathogen certified?

Dan: I have to laugh at this, because anyone who brags about being blood borne pathogen certified is a joke – just like the license itself. It takes 15 minutes to do it online, and you can Google all the answers. It’s a complete joke. I have been certified, but only because you need it for some conventions. Really, though, it does not mean shit. It’s just a way for them to make money. Sorry for swearing, but it truly is worthless, unless it’s what you need to own a shop, or do a convention. Sure, take my $50, or whatever it is these days, but clients should be warned that they more than likely got the certification, because they had to, and there’s no other reason. It DOES NOT make them clean and/or a safer tattoo artist.

The Ink Well: What is an interesting fact about you?

Dan: I never smoked a cigarette or did any real “drugs.” Yes, I smoked weed when I was a kid, but that’s it. It’s a huge misconception I usually get; people are always surprised when I tell them. They’re like, “Wait! What? You’ve never done drugs?

The Ink Well: Is tattooing the only artistic medium you use to express yourself creatively?

Dan: No. I started painting these past few years, both acrylic and oil. Thanks to my boy, Michael McLeod, who is an awesome painter, that got me motivated to pick up a brush. Of course, as a tattoo artist, I pencil draw and use a lot of charcoals and graphite pencils.

The Ink Well: Where do you get your artistic ideas and inspiration?

Dan: I don’t have a normal mind! Most of my ideas come from the messed up dreams I have or the shit I tend to watch on TV, along with the messed up world we live in. On my travels, I often find myself in museums, so of course if I see something, it will trigger something like, “Oh, damn! What if I incorporated something like that with this or that?

The Ink Well: What themes do you enjoy exploring?

Dan: Horror definitely interests me, and like I said, my mind goes in a million different directions. Now, with my travels, I see art from many different cultures, so that also intrigues me.

The Ink Well: Have you ever had difficulty getting clients to accept your ideas?

Dan: No, not really. Most clients come to me, because they’ve already seen my work, so they don’t question anything, really. They just kind of leave it up to me. When I am overseas, the language barrier can be difficult, so there are times where it's just too difficult to explain and really have the project move in the direction they want.

The Ink Well: What is the length of wait for an appointment?

Dan: As for waiting lists, I only schedule ahead two months in advance. Like I mentioned before, I screw off a lot – as in, take vacations – and just want to live my life since I’m still young, so I normally have no idea what I’m going to be doing or where I am going in three months.

The Ink Well: Are you planning to participate in any upcoming conventions?

Dan: I don’t do many conventions in the States anymore. Most of the conventions I do are overseas. Most years, I do the Ink Explosion Expo in Monchengladbach, Germany, and I’ll do the Rock’n’Ink festival in Chemnitz, Germany. I’ve been doing these two conventions for the past few years.

The Ink Well: What has been your favorite adventure/places you have been around the world?

Dan: I recently finished a trip where I left from Los Angeles, California, on a motorcycle and made my way south to Buenos Aires, Argentina. I’ve visited all but two countries in Central America, but I’ve only been to two countries in South America. So, my plan was to stop in every country that I didn’t already visit before, such as; Guyana, Columbia, and Bolivia, were the countries I was most excited about, along with some stops in Chile and Venezuela.Visiting the Amazon was also an interesting adventure. Once I arrived at my destination I sold my bike and flew back home to the States. I also flew over Antarctica on my return; which made me able to say, I finally visited all seven continents.

As Dan's journey progresses, for the adventure itself is what determines what each new day will bring. His goal is to explore and discover new things; whatever places his tattooing career takes him. He enjoys meeting new people from all walks of life, and learning their stories, as his own story progresses. He has a great positive attitude and an out going personality, which are the two most important qualities of being a successful tattoo artist.The pride he takes in his work is evident, as he continues to build his portfolio with top quality and original work.

A lot of artists walk in, thinking they’re the best. As a result, they’re not willing to learn, but it’s art! We should never stop learning; no matter how many years we’ve been doing it, or how old we get.

TattooDan.com

Facebook.com/TattooDan83

Instagram and Twitter - @TattooDan

Email – Dan@TattooDan.com

AdrenalineCrew.com

UglyKidClothing.com

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page